Room for research

Today we went on an excursion to our new office building which is being built on campus. It’s very much a construction site still (we’re not moving until next year), but we got to see how big the offices are going to be and some of the lecture halls… it made me think about what an optimal work space is. Right now I share an office with two other researchers, and come to think of it I have never actually had MY OWN office. But I like sharing a room. Maybe it’s just that I’m used to it… I do also work from home 1-2 days/week, so when I’m actually at the office I enjoy spending time with my colleagues. So choosing between a room just for me, a 2-person room and a larger room for 4 is difficult. We’ve had a lot of discussions, and most of my colleagues feel that they need the privacy of a single room to be able to focus and get their work done and that a bigger office is only used to save money. Personally, I don’t really agree. I think it can actually help creative thinking and stimulate discussions and progress to share an office. Plus it’s fun (depending on who you get to share with I guess). So I’m actually leaning towards the 4-person space.

What would you choose?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

